Author Topic: Now I know why.....  (Read 616 times)

Offline rebAL

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
Now I know why.....
« on: November 16, 2007, 02:42:40 AM »
NOT to store guns in case.  In just a matter of 2 days the inside of my barrel started to rust and it wasn't even raining; just condensation from leaving in my truck overnight.  Lesson learned!

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: Now I know why.....
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2007, 02:54:05 AM »
Yup learned that lesson at least 40 years ago and it wasn't even my gun. I went to buy one from a fellow at his house. He had it in a plastic case and when he pulled it out for the first time in some while it was completely rusted up. Needless to say he didn't make a sale that day.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline DakotaElkSlayer

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2007, 05:52:54 AM »
  I was guiding grouse and woodcock with my Gordon setter on Drummond Island Michigan...  Broke down my SXS 28ga. and put it in a soft case hoping I might get a chance to do a little hunting myself.  Three days later, I pulled out the gun and had a nice quarter-sized rust spot on the case colored receiver. :-[  I KNEW you don't store guns in a soft case, but hadn't a clue that a gun could be affected that quickly.

Jim
He who joyfully marches in rank and file has already earned my contempt. He has been given a large brain by mistake, since for him the spinal cord would suffice.

- Albert Einstein

Offline corbanzo

• Trade Count: (2)
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2007, 03:39:03 PM »