Author Topic: Caring for your Camo  (Read 949 times)

Offline XD9

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
  • Match Grade Makes A Difference!
Caring for your Camo
« on: November 20, 2007, 09:00:30 AM »
How does everyone wash their camo clothing?  I don't like to run my camos through the washer / dryer because it makes them fade faster.  However, after field dressing a deer and getting blood on me, I have to do something.  I've read a few threads where people soak their camos in a five gallon bucket with water and baking soda??  Anyone do this?  Any other methods used to keep camo from fading but to get them clean?
I'm an accountant and I carry a gun...'nuff said

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
Re: Caring for your Camo
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2007, 09:13:26 AM »
Atsko has some good info on cleaning military camo clothing, it's pretty much what I do using their Sport Wash, the colors still don't last forever, but several years. By that time, I'm looking for new camo anyway!! ;D

Tim

http://www.atsko.com/articles/clothing-care/washing-acu-army.html

1. Before washing, remove all patches from the coat, and all items from the pockets. Close all hook-and-loop fasteners to prevent snagging. ::)

2. Turn the jacket and trousers inside out before you wash them. (This will help avoid damage to the Velcro and reduce color fading.)

3. Machine wash in cold water with SPORT-WASH, using permanent press cycle, or hand wash using SPORT-WASH. (SPORT-WASH does NOT contain optical brighteners.)

4. Rinse completely (SPORT-WASH is the only detergent University tested and proven to rinse completely).

5. DO NOT WRING OR TWIST. Hang dry or machine dry on low to medium setting, between 140-160 degrees Fahrenheit (for cap do not exceed 130 degrees Fahrenheit).

6. DO NOT USE BLEACH. (CHLORINE or NON- CHLORINE)

7. DO NOT USE FABRIC SOFTENERS.

8. DO NOT DRY CLEAN, STARCH, or COMMERCIALLY HOT PRESS. ::)