Author Topic: Cast bullets for Whitetails  (Read 1348 times)

Offline kb

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Contributor
Cast bullets for Whitetails
« on: November 28, 2007, 04:10:05 PM »
Does anyone hunt whitetails with cast bullets in a 44?  What do you use?  Im interested in starting to cast for it.  I already cast for muzzle loading, so this will just be another step for me.

Thanks for your help.

kb
If electricity comes from electrons, does morality come from morons?

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: Cast bullets for Whitetails
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2007, 06:49:08 PM »
Lotsa folks around here do. If you'll read in the handgun hunting forums you'll find lots of posts on using them. The Lyman 429421 is likely the most commonly used that's the old Elmer Keith bullet. RCBS makes a slightly different version of it also. I prefer the Lyman 429244 personally.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline Clodhopper

• Trade Count: (7)
  • Avid Poster
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2007, 06:06:51 PM »
A few years I took a couple of whitetails in northern Florida with my Ruger Bisley 44 mag.  Used the Lyman 429421 to make bullets out of wheel weights quenched in room temp water, shot both deer from a tree stand at about 30 yards.  Clean pass through on both deer (one buck and one doe), neither one went more than 30 yards.  Shot both deer through the ribs right behind the shoulder, you could eat right up to the holes.  I have also shot pigs out here in California with the same gun and load.  One shot, barbecue time!  I like cast bullets for the 44 mag!

Offline Lloyd Smale

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (32)
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2007, 11:50:32 PM »