Author Topic: A New Handi Owner Weighs in on the .38-55  (Read 3155 times)

Offline LouisianaMan

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Avid Poster
    • The Mangham Family in the Civil War
A New Handi Owner Weighs in on the .38-55
« on: December 10, 2007, 04:38:12 PM »
     I'm a recently retired Army officer & lifetime avid plinker/shooter/hunter who started transitioning from semi-auto military-style rifles to CAS guns about 10 years ago. Honestly, I'd paid zero attention to H&R/NEF until I spotted a .38-55 Target Model in a friend's gun shop about a year ago. Haven't shot CAS since retiring in '05--too busy with other priorities--but the gun & caliber appealed to me so I bought it! Didn't get around to shooting it until this summer. . .     
     The rifle was very erratic with Winchester factory JSP (.375)--about 1/3 to 1/2 keyholed. The first three Buffalo Bore .377 JSPs keyholed, so I stopped shooting this powerful premium round. Black Hills Cowboy (.377, plain lead) shoot fine, so I breathed a sigh of relief that I'd found a solution short of reaming, rebarreling, etc. (After the Buffalo Bore experience, I'd sent the gun back to the factory in case it was defective, but they fired a good three-round group with some unidentified ammo and returned it, along with an offer to replace the barrel with one of my choice if this December's run of Winchester factory ammo didn't resolve my problem. Maybe a Winchester change in specs is imminent???)  Ten-X "Game Loads" (.379 cast with gas check) also shoot great, and their ballistics and bullet construction are obviously meant for hunting rather than CAS purposes.