Author Topic: New to forum with questions  (Read 241 times)

Offline AZHoosier

• Trade Count: (0)
  • An unloaded gun is just a CLUB!!
New to forum with questions
« on: December 28, 2007, 05:19:35 AM »
Good mornin'
Basically my first post. The others were comments. I've acquired by trade, my grandson's NEF .243, 20 inch youth rifle with synthetic stock. He out grew it and I've sort of decided due to some health issues to cut way back on hunting. No more stompin' the mountains. So, he now has my Ruger M-77 .270. So, I now have a few issues to sort out.

I'm putting on Gunstocks, Inc's Fiddleback Maple Stinger thumbhole stock and forend. Also it will be topped with an older BalVar 6 X 24 scope and a Morgan adjustable recoil/butt plate. It will mainly be used to kill paper and cardboard, maybe a few vermin on occasion. Be it known as to one of my downfalls....... If there is paper between three bullet holes at 100 yards!!!!!!..... Not acceptable!  

I received for Christmas a ambidextrous hammer extension. When I put it on it hit the scope when in the forward position. Bummer. I'm requesting opinions and experiences with the following. I'm looking at either shimming the scope base high enough, which isn't much, or replacing the scope rings with high rings or even "look through" as the gun has the open sights still on it. I will most likely leave the open sights on. Never know when you might need them. That is why I'm also looking at the "look through" rings. All notions are accepted!!!!!

It currently is getting the high gloss finish and the butt stock cut to fit the recoil pad. And yes, I will post a photo when it's saddle broke and ready to ride!!!!!
Bill
I shoot first, and don't ask questions.

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
Re: New to forum with questions
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2007, 05:51:56 AM »