Author Topic: 9mm vs. 10mm in law enforcement.  (Read 1799 times)

Offline H666

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
  • Greylag and Pinkfooted goose in north Iceland
9mm vs. 10mm in law enforcement.
« on: July 02, 2003, 03:36:47 AM »
I tried out teh Glock 20 10mm the other day and I can't help but wondering why law enforcement agencies all over the world maintain this strict policy of using 9mm handguns.  Surely there are some who have broke out of the circle, but I'm a cop myself, and I'm telling you the 10mm outmatches the 9mm in every aspect of the test.  Fellow law enforcers, whaddaya say? :biggun:
I sport a hefty 11-87 for my benefit as a proud waterfowler......

Offline Mikey

• GBO Supporter
  • Moderators
  • Trade Count: (2)
9 vs 10
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2003, 04:37:46 AM »
H666:  I'm not in law enforcement but I am a devoted fan of a 10mm bore.  Notice I said 10mm bore, not necessarily the 40 Short and weak or the 10mm.  I developed a bottle-necked 10mm cartridge based on the 45 ACP case in the late 70s.  Cor-Bon hypes their 400 Cor-Bon as the first and only but their case chambers in my barrels whereas mine won't chamber in theirs.

I developed mine to shoot metallic silhouette and hunt big game.  I developed mine to handle heavier loads than the Cor-Bon cartridge.  I have had great success on the silhouette range and in the field.  One of my favorite loads, that seemed to shoot very easily from my pistol was with a 180 grain cast semi-wadcutter (Keith style for the 38-40) at about 1200'/sec.  If I wanted to loads that down to about 1100'/sec it woudl have made an excellent Police load, in the Elmer Keith mode, and I agree.