Author Topic: cheap scopes  (Read 3790 times)

Offline jamaldog87

• Trade Count: (0)
cheap scopes
« on: January 28, 2008, 10:39:22 AM »
i was reading something in a reload-er mag. at the store and they were talking about how cheap scope are no good and will fail after a few years. Well what is a cheap scope? i have a Simmon new Master Series 8-point scope that i got for mark down but was 60$ and a barska  and are these cheap scopes? i know there are some really back scopes( like any 4x15mm) but what makes a cheap scope?
Most Interesting Man in the World: I Don’t Always Watch Shows for Little Girls, but when I Do, I prefer My Little pony . stay magic my friends

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
Re: cheap scopes
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2008, 10:41:31 AM »
Only time will tell, the only Barksa I had fogged up on me when I did the freezer test, so I don't have a lot of confidence in them. They may work fine for you, they may fail right away as mine did.

Tim
"Always do right, this will gratify some and astonish the rest" -  Mark Twain

Offline tn_junk

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (54)
  • A Real Regular
  • Look to Him
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2008, 11:35:38 AM »
Never had a problem with Simmons. Had two Barska that were pure trash.

alan
Common Sense Ain't Very Common

Deceased May 20, 2009.  RIP Alan we miss you.

Offline beemanbeme

« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2008, 01:16:54 PM »
Why would you put your scope in the freezer? Does that keep them fresh?   ;) I'm old enough to remember when we had to leave our scoped rifles outside the tent/cabin so they wouldn't fog up in the morning. They weren't sealed nor fog proof.   ;D