Author Topic: Breaking in a smoothbore  (Read 723 times)

Offline Kojak

• Trade Count: (0)
Breaking in a smoothbore
« on: February 19, 2008, 04:45:20 AM »
Hey fellas, while im not exactly new to shooting and cleaning scatterguns i am new to mwning a brand new one. Do you have to do the shoot-clean-shoot-clean breal in period on a smoothbore shotgun as you would on a rifle? If you would, would the procedure differ in technique or material? Mine have always had mileage when i got them so this wasnt an issue. Thanks in advance because tonight a buddy and i will be patterning my new tdc and his new 11-87 our boss got him for CHRISTmas.

Offline Brett

• Trade Count: (6)
Re: Breaking in a smoothbore
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2008, 02:10:11 PM »
If you are talking about a smooth bore, no break in is necessary.  The break in process used for rifled barrels is intended to smooth out rough spots and remove any burs created during the rifling process.   However, if you find that you have some large holes in your shot patterns you may want to try burnishing the barrel with 000 steel wool.  I think there is a sticky on this in the Q&A thread.   I've burnished a couple of my shotgun barrels (a .410 and a 20ga.) and it made a big difference in the uniformity of the pattern. 

Life memberships:  <><, NRA, BASS, NAFC

Offline Kojak

• Trade Count: (0)
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2008, 08:39:30 PM »
Thanks thats what i figured. Good tip on the burnishing.

Offline Swampman

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (44)
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2008, 03:41:57 PM »
No break in is necessary with a rifle either.  I've got a few million rounds down range and I've never "broke in" a rifle yet.  The stuff people dream up....sheesh!
"Brother, you say there is but one way to worship and serve the Great Spirit. If there is but one religion, why do you white people differ so much about it? Why not all agreed, as you can all read the Book?" Sogoyewapha, "Red Jacket" - Senaca