Author Topic: Taurus Lightweight vs. S&W Airweight  (Read 1568 times)

Offline buckeye hunter

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Taurus Lightweight vs. S&W Airweight
« on: February 25, 2008, 03:28:45 PM »
Anyone have any input as to the pro's and cons of each for Concealed carry?

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: Taurus Lightweight vs. S&W Airweight
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2008, 09:50:35 AM »
Smith's actually work can't say the same for most of the Taurus guns I've owned. I'd not trust my life to a Taurus.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline single action

• Avid Poster
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2008, 05:19:05 PM »
recently bought a smith airweight bodyguard, very light even loaded, conceals well in a pocket or just stuck in my waistband.
The store I got it from had both taurus and smiths. The taurus was a little larger and heavier and just didnt "feel right" to me.
the smith was only about 50.00 more than the taurus, so thats what I got. It functions as it should, and is accurate enough for what it is.( obviously not going to shoot sillouette matches with it) The muzzle blast with 125gr jhp's is impressive.

Offline Silvertp

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (10)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2008, 07:13:11 PM »

Just to balance out your feedback... ;D....Ive had excellent luck with Taurus.  One of my daily carry guns is a Taurus .357.  It is the 7 shot so based on a heavier frame but I am very confident in it.  Ive a buddy who packs the Taurus lightwt and loves it.

Oh...the only revolver Ive ever had problems with was a smith & wesson model 29.  When fired rapidly double action it would bind up and the cylinder would stick.  Go figure! 

Silvertp

Offline Bigbuck

• Trade Count: (3)