Author Topic: Help with handloading  (Read 735 times)

Offline Daddio5280

• Trade Count: (0)
Help with handloading
« on: March 02, 2008, 11:10:19 AM »
Hi. I'm totally new to hand-loading and need some help.  I have a 22-250, 22" bull barrel.  Using Winchester brass, Winchester primers, H380 powder with Nosler 55gr. Balistic tips.  I just bought a Lee press loader with a sizing die, a primer removal die, a case length trim tool, deburr tool, primer case cleaner... etc.  I've read the basics and lets say they are very basic.  I'm trying to size the neck of the case prior to charging.  But I don't know how to set the die distance or how far to ram the press.  I also don't know if I should be resizing just the neck, or trying to resize the whole case.  I also don't know how to get the correct overall legnth of the round with the bullet legnth itself longer than the factory bullet I shoot.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks - Robert.

Offline McLernon

• GBO Supporter
Re: Help with handloading
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2008, 11:56:19 AM »
You will likely have to FL resize because the Handi action is flexible. The hotter you load the more the flex.

To set the cartridge overall length  push a bullet into an empty sized case to a depth of 1/2 diameter. This is the minimum engagement I use as a rule. With a black marker paint the bullet. Load the empty round into the chamber and close the action. Open the action and remove the bullet. Inspect the bullet for rifling marks. If none then you have a long throat and you will not be able to set the bullet near the rifling. If their are marks it is possible to measure the length of the marks with a vernier and a magnifying glass. Set the bullet deeper into the cartridge the length of the marks PLUS 0.032 inches. This will leave you 0.032 off the rifling which is usually where the best accuracy is obtained. Measure the cartridge overall length. Set your bullet seater for this overall length.