Author Topic: Cheap autoloader for new shooter.  (Read 1069 times)

Offline DavOh

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
Cheap autoloader for new shooter.
« on: March 20, 2008, 01:48:41 PM »
Been shooting rifles all my life.   I'm kind of new to pistol shooting.  Wanting to purchase my first pistol.  On a pretty tight budget these days.    Really looking for a decent plinker for not much $$$.

What to look for?  What to look out for? 

Thinking about:

Taurus beretta clone
Taurus glock clone
S&W Sigma
Kel-tec
Walther

open to suggestions....
-Davoh

Offline superdown

• Trade Count: (14)
  • A Real Regular
Re: Cheap autoloader for new shooter.
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2008, 05:51:34 PM »
the sigma seems to have been getting decent reviews as of late and there is a pretty decent rebate on them . but after owning a Taurus Beretta clone i would not buy a darn thing with the Taurus name on it ! I don't have clue about kel-tec's Walther i believe is made by smith at least the ones in this country. superdown

Offline Savage

« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2008, 01:07:38 AM »
From the list you provided, a first center fire pistol that won't break the bank, looks to me the best choice might be the Sigma. Never owned a Sigma, but have shot a few. They seemed like usable pistols. I have a Taurus 1911 and an old mdl 94 .22 revolver that have been ok to good, with the PT1911 being near the top. But no experience with the others on the list. It's been all "Internet Gospel" but have heard of lots of problems with the other Taurus offerings lately. I think you can get into a Sigma for under $300 w/three mags after rebate.  I'd stay with the 9mm for sure! Good luck!
Savage
An appeaser is one who feeds the crocodile hoping it will eat him last,

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2008, 03:32:08 AM »