Author Topic: 20 or 12  (Read 500 times)

Offline Specklebelly

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Contributor
20 or 12
« on: April 04, 2008, 02:49:05 PM »
I shot my 12 gauge pardner a few weeks ago with a slug in it.  I just had a parnder with a modified barrel.  I have never done that before as I always hunt big game with a rifle.

Needless to say, I was QUITE surprised by the recoil.  I shot an elk a few years ago with a 30-06 bolt action. 180 grain and it kicked nothing like that 12 gauge. 

Anyway, I have a little extra in the bank this month and am going to get a slug barrel and have a few questions:

How is the recoil on a 20 compared to the 12?
Can a 20 be used for deer?
What is the lethal range for 12 and 20?
Which do you recommend?

As always, thx.
Specklebelly

Romans 5:8
Mark 12:28-31

Offline bearbeater

• Trade Count: (0)
Re: 20 or 12
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2008, 05:33:17 PM »
Hey
I have a 20 and 12. I prefer the 20 uhs or tracker ll for bigger stuff I use the 12. Your preferance but the 20 is less brutal inthe recoil dept. hope this helps
Bearbeater
Thats the ups and downs of Aviation

Offline WNY_Whitetailer

• Look at me I'm white and nerdy
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Working...
    • http://www.dec.state.ny.us/
Re: 20 or 12
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2008, 05:47:26 PM »
You have a couple of options...Here is what I would do. 

I would send that receiver, stock and forend back to H&R and have them install a 20GA USH barrel.  But, you would have to mount a scope as the USH does not come with sites.

If you want a 12GA, I would opt for a Tracker II with rifle sites.  You cannot mount a 12GA USH heavy barrel on a SB1 shotgun frame.  But, H&R just came out with a Ultra Light Slug Hunter...That 12GA will fit an SB1 shotgun frame.  I do not see it listed on the accessory barrel page yet.  You may have to call for that one.