Author Topic: Need help picking a scope  (Read 529 times)

Offline oldyardog

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Avid Poster
Need help picking a scope
« on: May 08, 2008, 03:14:28 AM »
I am finally to old to use open sights as well as I would like to. I am setting up a Handi rifle in .357 as a short range (100 yds) deer gun. My experience with scopes is very limited and dated. As I am on a fixed income price is a big consideration. Any input you can give me on which 2 to 4 power handgun scope would be the best suited to my needs would be greatly appreciated.

Oldyardog

Online Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: Need help picking a scope
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2008, 03:29:16 AM »
I can think of no possible reason why I'd ever put a handgun scope on a rifle. Field of view is just too narrow so stick with a rifle scope.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline Cement Man

• Trade Count: (4)
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2008, 06:18:01 AM »
Yep, a riflescope is what you need, and I can think of no reason why a 2 to 4 power fixed scope wouldn't give you everything you need on a .357 rifle under 100 yards.  I think a Weaver K4 is a scope you could get for about $120 new and it would serve you superbly well forever. Some of the 2.5X shotgun scopes might be had at a reasonable price also.  I don't believe in the $29 stuff, but I do think that between $70 and $130 you can find something decent.  Fixed power scopes sometimes give you a little more latitude for savings vs. durability. 
CIVES ARMA FERANT - Let the citizens bear arms.
POLITICIANS SHOULD BE LIMITED TO TWO TERMS - ONE IN OFFICE AND ONE IN PRISON.... Illinois already does this.

Offline trotterlg

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (36)
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2008, 07:57:27 AM »