Author Topic: Question about 300 yards and target detail...  (Read 849 times)

Offline Sitting Duck

• Trade Count: (0)
Question about 300 yards and target detail...
« on: June 11, 2008, 01:27:21 PM »
Here's the deal.  I'm shooting paper at 200 and 250 yards currently and I'm wondering what detail I should be seeing at 250 yards with a Bushnell 4X12X40 AO Sportsview scope.  Should I be able to see the one inch lines at 250 yards with the this scope?  I currently cannot.  In order to shoot tight groups, assuming the gun and I are capable, wouldn't I need more detail for an aiming point?

I realize this scope isn't a top-of-the-line Bushnell but my brother is letting me use it and it seems to function alright.     

The target is Bushnell's 100 yard sight-in (the one with orange quad bull and the four-four inch black squares in each corner). 

I'm new to all of this and really don't know what everyone else is seeing when looking at their targets from 250-300 yards.  Should I be using a higher powered scope?  And if so, what would be some recommendations (not brands but power) for the current 250 yards with a desire to shoot 400 yards in the future.  Assuming, my 22-250 will group at that distance.

Thanks, in advance.

Offline KRP

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Avid Poster
Re: Question about 300 yards and target detail...
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2008, 03:23:18 PM »
I wouldn't expect to see much with that scope at 300 yards.  If you are just going to punch paper I would look at a 24x or 36x target scope.  If it's not just a paper puncher something variable would be good with a max of 16-24x depending on what you are going to be shooting.  Magnification isn't the only factor though as better glass makes up for lesser power.

Offline eye shot

• A Real Regular
    • Mike's Obituary
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2008, 03:51:49 PM »
Put a 3x9x40 Nikon Monarch on it. Hey that duck isn't sitting!