Author Topic: .400 bullets in a .50 cal barrell  (Read 2388 times)

Offline DennyRoark

• Trade Count: (6)
  • A Real Regular
    • The Ohio Outdoorsman
.400 bullets in a .50 cal barrell
« on: August 28, 2008, 09:36:24 AM »
HI Folks, newbie to the forum but 30+ years of muzzle loading experience.  I would like to share an experince I had last fall.  I have been hunting with T/C's for thirty years and since my first Omega, I have experienced 2 or three fliers on each session at the range.  I shoot year round...Initally I was using a .40 cal bullet in my 50.  Last fall, T/C replaced my Omega x7 carbine right before our deer season.  In a quick trip to the range to get the scope swap sighted in, I had a 200 gr (.40 cal) shockwave hit the target sideways in the first 3 shots, at 25 yds.  After a few more shots, a good zero and a couple of more fliers, I found 3 sabots with 1 or 2 petals that didn't open.  I switched to 250 gr bullets (.45 cal) and the problem is now gone for good.  I may be going out on a limb here, but would like to share my thoughts on this and welcome what others feel.  I prefer a lighter bullet for flatter trajectory.  First, this happened with several different brands of bullets including PR and Barnes.  Also with a 180 gr XTP.  I feel that the sabots are too thick on the 40/50 load and they don't open as well.  With the 45/50's they pretty much look all look the same.  I only shoot around 100 gr of Pyrodex RS, but adjust the charge to get the bullet to group well.  Well, what do y'all think???
Denny
Denny Roark
Member of PETA (People Eating Tasty Animals)
The Second Amendment...the one that makes all the others possible
I have no problems with vegetarians...I eat them regularly-Ted Nugent
"The beauty of the second amendment is that it will not be needed until they try to take it." -Thomas Jefferson

Offline sabotloader

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
Re: .400 bullets in a .50 cal barrell
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2008, 07:18:14 AM »