Author Topic: Cap n Ball wads get my powder damp  (Read 1732 times)

Offline joehammer75

• Trade Count: (0)
Cap n Ball wads get my powder damp
« on: September 23, 2008, 03:03:34 PM »
Im pretty new to cap and ball shooting. I bought some Cabelas lubricated wads for over the powder in my 1858 Army. I use Pyrodex pistol pellets and the wads are getting my pellets damp enough that some times they barley get the ball out of the bbl and drop out still burning. Some one please help  :o

Offline buffermop

• A Real Regular
Re: Cap n Ball wads get my powder damp
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2008, 11:52:48 PM »
I use the loose Triple 7 powder with vegtable oil impregnated wads. No problem what so ever in my Remy.

Offline WV SCROUNGER

• Trade Count: (1)
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2008, 11:56:57 PM »
FIRST GET RID OF THE PRYO AND SHOOT Goex.  You will then not even need a wad...gun will shoot fine without it....

Offline NozzleRag

« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2008, 10:58:52 AM »
Pellets are terrible for cap and ball revolvers. Most that use them do so only for a short time before they go to loose powder. I agree that real black and dead soft balls is the best solution.

Offline mcwoodduck

• Trade Count: (11)
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2008, 11:28:07 AM »
Throw the wads away and use over sized balls with a touch of grease.  Or grease/ Wax the powder side of the wad.
If gun is supose to use 451 balls and you use 454 you will get a lead ring when you cram them in and get a good seal.  I shoot both my 58 and 60 army this way.  For the first few rounds I take a Q tip and stick a little grease around the inside of the the cylinder over the bullet.
With the pistol pellets of pyrodex the wad may act as a cussion and not break up the pellet.  You need to crush the pellet for them to work.  I have only used them once and someone else handed them to me.  There is a wax film on the outside and you need to break them to get ignition if I remember reading the Instructions right.