Author Topic: Scope tube length -- long action rifle.  (Read 579 times)

Offline Bart Solo

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
Scope tube length -- long action rifle.
« on: October 01, 2008, 09:16:54 AM »
I want to re-scope a 30-06 Savage 110.  Are there any brands that are better than others when it comes to long action rifles?     

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: Scope tube length -- long action rifle.
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2008, 09:39:01 AM »
The Leupold 3-9 has always worked well on long action Remington rifles for me. I actually prefer their VX-III 2.5-8 over the 3-9 but find it problematic to mount on the LA guns. It can be done but it's not so easy. You can of course use extended bases and mount most anything.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline kyelkhunter3006

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (20)
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2008, 09:47:16 AM »
Get a one piece weaver style or picatinny base for it, and you'll not have any problems with scope mounting.  B-square makes one that I've used on several Savage rifles in the past, and EGW makes one that you can get with 0 degree, 5 degree (I think), or 20 degree cants to it.

Offline Bart Solo

• A Real Regular
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2008, 10:01:18 AM »
The reason I ask is my son is  complaining that he has to move too far forward to pick up his sight picture.  He thinks he might have to use extended bases on his Savage to move his scope back just a little.  I want to avoid extended bases if possible. 

I have also heard that sometimes people install bases backwards which pulls shooter up the stock. 

My son is about 6 foot so I don't think the stock is too long.