Author Topic: wasp nest  (Read 889 times)

Offline buckskin billy

• Trade Count: (0)
    • thebuckrub.proboards91.com
wasp nest
« on: December 14, 2008, 10:13:08 AM »
i've been shooting cap and ball revolvers for over twenty years and have tried almost every gimmick that has come along over the years.
 years ago i started using the felt wads and have been very pleased. no more grease to fool with and my accuracy improved greatly. though i have always wondered about how auethenic the wads are. i read the great post attach at the top of this page about how to properly load a c&b revolver and believe the old timers would have used a wool felt  wad if avilible.
 in many old documents i have read, i have seen written the use of a nesting between powder and ball. most of this were in rifles. and i have found that wasp nest was the most commonly used by the old timers.
 i use wasp nest in my 54 caliber hatfield with great results. it actually improved my accuracy in that old gun.
 i have been curious to try it in my colt navy's. my questions is has any one every tried this and does it seal the cylinder off properly to prevent chain firing
face your fear, accept your war, it is what it is
thebuckrub.proboards91.com

Offline beerbelly

• Trade Count: (6)
Re: wasp nest
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2008, 01:17:02 PM »
I have heard the same ,but it was Hornet's nest. I just got a Hornet's nest ,I found in the woods. So I will be trying it soon.
                                                            Beerbelly

Offline bedbugbilly

• Avid Poster
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2009, 12:50:03 PM »
I tied using it once but I got stung . . .   ;-)  I guess it's best to find a nest that's not being used?

So many tricks that the old-timers used are lost and it's a shame.  They improvised when they needed to and had all sorts of tricks - not just for shooting but other work as well.