Author Topic: Back to the basics  (Read 1133 times)

Offline Georgian

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Back to the basics
« on: January 30, 2009, 06:18:45 AM »
Hey yall....been a while since I've posted on here, so forgive me, lol. Over the past two years, I have continously upgraded my personal firearms, mainly my shotguns. For home defense I keep an 870 loaded on the rack and a Mossberg 500 Mariner with me in my truck. Although they are both awesome weapons, I feel as if I have lost my way in all of the "upgrading" I've been doing in fear of things to come. When I started shooting shotguns as a kid, my first shotgun was given to me by my grandad. I still have it to this day....a camoed H&R Mod 58 20 gauge. It is a light, handy, and a great little gun. I guess my whole premise to this is that sometimes we all forget the basics, and the simple, tried and true things in life (which is what I consider the H&R/NEF singleshot shotguns). Does anyone feel the same way? I just want to start getting back to the basics....start back using my 20gauge, and maybe browse some pawn shops for a cheap singleshot 12gauge that needs a good home.....
~Speak softly and carry a big stick~T. Roosevelt

~I won't be wronged. I won't be insulted. I won't be laid a-hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them.~J. Wayne

Offline Spanky

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (96)
  • USMC Semper Fidelis
Re: Back to the basics
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2009, 06:44:14 AM »
Couldn't agree with you more about getting back to the basics.
I hardly ever use any of my bolt action, levers or semi's.
99% of the time it's the Handi's or Pardners.

I actually like the thought of only getting one shot... I think it makes you a better hunter. ;)

Spanky

Offline WoodsRoamer

• Trade Count: (1)
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2009, 09:17:23 AM »