Author Topic: Remington R-15 Owners, what ammo are you shooting?  (Read 2408 times)

Offline Jellyhead

• Trade Count: (0)
Remington R-15 Owners, what ammo are you shooting?
« on: February 01, 2009, 02:14:42 AM »
I just picked up my R-15 yesterday, I am new to the AR platform, I have shot bolt actions in the past.
I am familiar with choosing the right ammo for them, I guess what my question is, Do I stay away from the cheap
ammo for the R-15? and go with the a better quaility brand?

Thanks,

Jellyhead

Offline FLNT4EVR

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • A Real Regular
Re: Remington R-15 Owners, what ammo are you shooting?
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2009, 02:26:13 AM »
When you take that R-15 out to play your going to go thru lots of ammo.They are that much fun to shoot',so the cheap stuff is fine.Most of the cheap ammo is FMJ anyway and can't be used to hunt with.For hunting, if you don't reload, try a couple of different brands to see which shoots best in your rifle.With the 1 in 9 twist R-15,  bullets from 50-60 grn usualy shoot best.
" Act civilized...even if you ain't " 

" I won't be wronged. I won't be insulted. I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people , and I require the same from them. "
                                  John Wayne, "The Shootist"

Offline CannonKrazy

• Trade Count: (5)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2009, 07:11:28 AM »
Cheap ammo is fine to play with but you will find that many brands with a lacquer coated steel cases dirty the interior of the gun quicker. Wolf and Brown Bear are two of the brands that are known for this.Both shoot great but you will have to clean your gun more often.
Something else to consider is buying zinc or brass plated ammo like Silver Bear or Golden Bear. It's just a few dollars more than the coated ammo but a lot less than brass cased.

Offline Jellyhead

« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2009, 09:53:08 AM »