Author Topic: is the 38spl good enough??  (Read 4842 times)

Offline oldfart

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
is the 38spl good enough??
« on: March 12, 2009, 01:57:21 PM »
i just recently bought a new charter arms police undercover, the gun shoots great and is very accurate for a snubby. however i've got some friends who are turning their noses up at the little gun, saying i need at least a 357 or better yet a 44. now i beleive the 38 is more than enough to stop what i need it for, ( i'll be carrying on the farm in case of 4 legged attacks, coyoties are getting really bad around here, and i'll use it for my house gun for the 2 legged varmits). i seem to recall these are the same friends that got me in to archery in the late 80's, i started shooting at 60lb pull by the time they got thru hounding me i was trying to shoot 90lb bows and ended up hurting my arm. so i wanted to check to see what everyone here thinks, is the 38 with modern loads ( the gun is rated for +p and hornady makes some ammo that has 1100fps and 425flbs of energy) but do i need that hot stuff? i know to practice with low powered stuff, and just use the hotter stuff for defense. but will the other loads out there be enough? i would just like to know what other shooters think. thank you all for any advice.

Offline kitchawan kid

• Trade Count: (4)
  • A Real Regular
Re: is the 38spl good enough??
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2009, 02:06:04 PM »
A.22 in the pocket is better than a S&W 500 in the safe at home.Many undercover cops carried them for years.I have carried one for a few years and didn't feel under guned.
N.R.A. life member
N.Y.S.R&P
PUTNAM FISH &GAME ASS.
RAMAPOO RIFLE AND REVOLVER

cowboy action,hunting,target-1911's rule

Offline S.S.

« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2009, 02:45:42 PM »
with proper choice of ammo, A 38 spl. is fine.
The 158 grain SWC HP in standard velocity
is the best choice in many circles for a snubbie.
I agree with their thinking and that is what I carry.