Author Topic: How do you clean a mold?  (Read 707 times)

Offline jpuke

• Trade Count: (12)
  • Contributor
How do you clean a mold?
« on: April 07, 2009, 01:39:18 AM »
I've been casting with an RCBS mold for about 2 years now.  I have to cast hot to get good fills and every few casts I get a bit of a smear across the top of the mold which after time has built into a thin layer of lead near the edge of the mold blocks.  The bottom of the sprue plate stays clean, the only build-up is on the top of the blocks.  How can I get this off?  I've tried letting it sit with some Kroil on it, hoping that would loosen it up but it hasn't worked that well.  Any suggestions? 

Offline mechanic

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (32)
Re: How do you clean a mold?
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2009, 04:10:23 PM »
Propane torch.
Molon Labe, (King Leonidas of the Spartan Army)

Offline 7 MM

• Trade Count: (0)
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2009, 10:23:10 AM »
on the steel moulds heat it up with a hotplate or propane torch and use a brass bristle brush to brush it off.
It is not uncommon and all moulds eventually need cleaning.
You need to get it hot enough for the lead to liquify before brushing, then brush until there is no more lead.
Once it is clean checl how the sprue cutter works and if it seems loose tighten ever so slightly as too much is worse than not enough.
Hope this helps.

7 MM

Offline Cat Whisperer

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Pulaski Coehorn Works
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2009, 12:29:08 PM »
... and every few casts I get a bit of a smear across the top of the mold
... Any suggestions? 

Two; a) wait just a little longer to open the sprue cutter - let the alloy cool a few seconds longer (that will reduce the occurances); b) I mix a little titanium dioxide (molydenum dioxide also works) with a silicone grease and coat the sprue cutter and the top of the mould.  Lead pencil works for a period of time as well.  All keep anything from sticking.

Tim K                 www.GBOCANNONS.COM