Author Topic: Double Charging, Loud Booms and SCARY Lessons Learned  (Read 463 times)

Offline skarke

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (1)
Double Charging, Loud Booms and SCARY Lessons Learned
« on: April 11, 2009, 05:50:45 PM »
First, I have been handloading for over 25 years.  I am extremely dedicated to perfection, and safety.  I have handloaded probably 30,000 rounds on a single stage press, without even a minor mishap.

Now the lesson learned.

I am new to progressive reloading, having initiated the practice about 2 months ago.  I have since loaded about 3500 rounds progressively.  I am diligent to watch each step, each pull.  However, sometimes we progressive reloaders get a tight primer pocket, or a bent rim, or some other defect in material that can partially jam the shell plate.

IT IS AT THIS TIME THAT I LEARNED, AND NOW KNOW, THAT EVERYTHING MUST STOP RIGHT THEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

As a beginner, when I first experienced this type of jam, I worked to clear the jam that occured WITHOUT clearing the machine of cases, and then starting over.  I will NEVER do that again, because in my efforts to clear the jam, I charged a case twice.  Worse yet, I didn't catch it.

Because of our graceful God, it was just a slight overcharge, because I am loading plinkers most of the time.  When I fired, it was very obvious, and scary.

I immediately stopped, clear my weapon, and completely tore the pistol down, inspecting each part thoroughly for damage, then sighed a sigh of gratitude and relief, because I was still breathing and my firearm was undamaged.

I post this because I am not ashamed to admit a big mistake, and to hopefully help other newbies to reloading to remain vigilent, focus, and think safety above all else.

I hope this helps,

Dan