Author Topic: Hand Primer.  (Read 1118 times)

Offline mccleese

• Trade Count: (21)
  • Avid Poster
Hand Primer.
« on: April 13, 2009, 10:36:48 AM »
Ok, looking back everyone says they are fantastic, can't live without them, prime while you watch TV etc.  I have been reloading for 15 years and never had one.  My Dillon feeds primers automatically and I have used the dreaded arm on my RCBS single stage.  I pop out the old primers and use the arm on the downstroke.  How will a hand primer benefit me?  I honestly want to know because I am about to place an add and use some gift certificates and may buy one.  Do you all deprime then polish then prime?  Thats the only way I see it working.Thanks

Offline cwlongshot

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (158)
  • Shooting, Hunting, the Outdoors & ATVs
Re: Hand Primer.
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2009, 10:45:07 AM »
I have worn out three Lee hand primers IIRC... I wouldn't use one now if it was given to me. As a matter of fact, I did receive a couple in a trade deal and they where passed on to another loader.

RCBS makes one and it looks good. I haven't used one.

Foster also makes a good one.

I have been using a press mounted primer for many years, no more seating bu feel for this loader!!!  A few years back I got a deal on a RCBS bench mounted primer using the then new primers in a strip APS system. I LOVE this thing!!!! I do have to say its simply too expensive. If you can find one used or at a rebated price, I HIGHLY recommend it!

CW
"Pay heed to the man who carries a single shot rifle, he likely knows how to use it."

NRA LIFE Member 
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Offline LaOtto222

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2009, 11:57:05 AM »