Author Topic: newbie to cap and ball--lookin for advice  (Read 1001 times)

Offline homebuilt

• Trade Count: (4)
newbie to cap and ball--lookin for advice
« on: April 19, 2009, 10:39:30 AM »
hey all, i'm new to cap and ball not to mention black powder all together. i'm lookin at buying a "traditions" spiller and burr .36 cal. are these decent guns? what else am i going to need to get to start shooting this thing? which powder would be ideal to use, how much? also which caps do they require? i know my shotguns and centerfire rifles(reload for both) but am not familiar with these ol'fashioned things :D also is there any other manufactors of these that are of higher quality? thanks guy's

Offline FourBee

• Trade Count: (0)
Re: newbie to cap and ball--lookin for advice
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2009, 04:00:55 PM »
Dixie Gun Works sells the Pietta Spiller & Burr Revolver.   Not sure if Traditions' is a Pietta.
You'll need of course black powder, preferrably 15 grains of GOEX FFFg (also called 3Fg), or equivalent substitute (read the ratio difference on the substitute canister). 

Also you'll need lead round balls, preferrably .375" diameter.  I like to use a Wad (a  .36 caliber lubed felt wad) between the powder charge and the ball.    A #11 Percussion Cap is recommended, but I've found that the Remington #10 (longer cup) fits more snug, and won't fall off prior to firing.  

A powder flask to dispense the powder into the chambers.  Something lilke a Colt, with removable spout (so you can easily change grain amounts).   A Powder Funnel that threads into the Flask for ease of refilling the flask.  A (Snail Capper) to dispense the percussion caps onto the nipples.   It will save your thumbs from getting sore.   That should get you started.

p.s. 
are these decent guns?
   These guns are built on a Brass Frame.    They are okay as long as you don't shoot heavy loads, which over time will wallow out the frame at pressure points.
Enjoy your rights to keep and bear arms.