Author Topic: Round Ball Recycle - Equipment List Needed -  (Read 994 times)

Offline David L

• Trade Count: (0)
Round Ball Recycle - Equipment List Needed -
« on: September 13, 2003, 06:18:23 AM »
I know I’ve asked a lot of questions but I’m relatively new to modern BP shooting and all the toys that go with it.

I’m getting tired of buying all those round balls. I’m not a rich man but do not mind buying quality equipment. I saw that movie “The Patriot” with Mel Gibson melting down little toy lead soldiers to make his round balls. Question is, who makes this type of equipment and what do I need to get started in making round balls of my own? I also saw a post (I think it was Gatofeo) about making a box to catch my round balls and recycle them, I’m in the process of that right now. I just can’t bring myself to just leave them sitting on the range….The RB’s that is……

Again, Thanks for the help

David L

Offline JRWHITETAIL

ROUND BALLS
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2003, 10:36:14 AM »
David L, Yes there is a way to make round balls yourself. You can start small and then get as big into this as you like. But I WORN YOU This can become a fever you cant kill. First you go to your favorite gun shop. And buy the LYMAN reloading manual. This will give you the basics on how to mold. Then you get a mold to fit your cal. of your gun. Then you go to the scrap yard ( recycle yard ) and buy some old lead pipe. DO NOT TRY ANYTHING WITH BATTERIES!  BAD!!! You can mold your own and shoot for next to nothing.
Praise GOD, and pass the ammo!

Offline David L

Round Ball Recycle - Equipment List Needed
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2003, 03:06:42 PM »
Yeah, read a book....OK.... I can go with the trial and error method, no problem.

Thanks for the reply

David L

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2003, 07:01:01 PM »
Both Lee and Lyman make round ball moulds. The Lee moulds are far cheaper and can be had in double cavity for some sizes.