Author Topic: need help with load info  (Read 456 times)

Offline jtech

• Trade Count: (0)
need help with load info
« on: May 23, 2009, 03:53:17 PM »
I am very new to reloading and would like to load Horandy's match 75 gr. bthp for a ar 15 that has a 1-7 twist.
I've checked my lee and lyman manuals and neither is using this exact bullet. The lyman manual I have is the 48th edition, it lists the hornady A max with a oal of 2.39 and sierra hpbt's in 69 & 77 gr's with a oal of 2.60. I know the oal will effect pressure from what I've read ( I can't measure it). I assume the oal difference between the sieera 77 grnr and the hornady A max 75 grnr is bullet shape. Is there a way to calculate a safe starting load or is there a published safe starting load?
Thanks in advance from another newbie!

Offline jtech

Re: need help with load info
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2009, 03:55:56 PM »
SORRY for the typo sierra oal is 2.26 not 2.6 in the lyman manual. ::)

Offline sk330lc

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (55)
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2009, 04:18:22 PM »
75gr BTHP  2.250"  C.O.L.      From Sixth & Seventh Edition Hornady manuals..    Or MAG length.

A safe Starting Load is the Lowest start point in your manual. They show the same loads for the 75GR A-max and the BTHP.  Start Low and work Up Looking for presure signs. Your Lyman manual explains well what to look for.. Take it slow check everything over and over.  Be safe. 
Be True to What You Hunt!!!!!
SUPPORT THE GBO SERVER
http://www.gboreloaded.com/forums/index.php/topic,191112.0/topicseen.html

Offline jtech

« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2009, 03:53:56 PM »
The load for the A max may be the same but it is loaded to a longer oal which will effect pressure, 2.39 if memory serves. There has to be a reason, dependent on bullet shape not all 75 gr. bullets are the same. I'm new to this but there has to be a reason the manuals list different oal's and pressures. More or less bullet in the case will change everything or will it not?