Author Topic: Beeswax Waterproofing  (Read 2644 times)

Offline Mry75

• Trade Count: (0)
Beeswax Waterproofing
« on: June 07, 2009, 07:38:46 PM »
Hello all, first let me say that I enjoyed reading every page of this forum. I've been shooting C & B revolvers for about 17 years now and I'm still learning new things. There's a great deal of good info here, thank you to you all for contributing. I thought I'd add a little from a recent experiment of mine. After reading somewhere about how soldiers during the Cival War would waterproof their guns by dripping wax on the caps and chamber mouths, I thought I'd try it. I've always kept my stainless .44 New Model Army loaded and on the nightstand, often for months at a time during humid Indiana summers. Often, I'll carry it in my saddlebags while on a motorcycle trip, so the idea of waterproofing interested me. Sometimes I've loaded with wads, sometimes with lube over the chambers. (A variation of Gatofeo's using crisco instead of tallow, and adding olive oil untill it's soft enough to spread over the chambers with my finger.) I have noticed that after firing a load that has sat for some time, the report sounds a little muffled. Although, I've never had it fail to fire, I suspect that the powder was getting a bit contaminated. (I use Goex FFFg, usually 28 grains with 15 grains of corn meal filler.) Anyway, I decided to try the wax waterproofing. First I melted some beeswax and dripped it over the caps on an UNLOADED cylinder. I quickly learned that this makes one hell of a mess and I had some caps fail to fire because of the wax build-up. This won't do for a gun I carry and I doubt it would've done for a soldier with his life at stake. I found it works much better to knead a small amount of beeswax between your fingers to soften it, roll it into a small "snake" and loop it around the nipple and cap. You can mold it right to the nipple and cap with your finger, scraping away any excess with your fingernail. An added bonus is