Author Topic: Ubuntu report  (Read 869 times)

Offline Chilachuck

• Trade Count: (2)
  • A Real Regular
Ubuntu report
« on: June 29, 2009, 03:11:20 AM »
I'm running Ubuntu on an ASUS P5QPL-VM mobo and the darn thing crashes a couple of times a week.

Not ready for prime time.

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: Ubuntu report
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2009, 08:12:36 AM »
What language was that you were typing?  ??? Looked kinda like Greek to me.  :o

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline Chilachuck

• A Real Regular
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2009, 05:53:44 PM »
Er, that's the name of the mother board. ASUS has a fine reputation for reliability. My old mobo (another ASUS) is still good, and it's about 8 years old. (P3B-F, 550Mhz, Pentium III)

Ubuntu is a Linux release, set up sort of like Windows, but complete with an office suite. It's free if you download it and burn it to disk or are willing to wait weeks for a free copy through the mail. I think they send it out faster if you buy it.

The theoretical advantage is that the virus writers have not been able to come up with something to infect Linux. It is, however, hackable, so one of the BSDs is better for servers or anything connected full time to the net.

The blasted thing crashed this AM, and again when I booted up a half hour ago. Not good.

Offline Oldtimer

• Trade Count: (0)
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2009, 01:52:56 AM »