Author Topic: Question on reloading for "slow" barrels.....  (Read 456 times)

Offline drdougrx

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (10)
Question on reloading for "slow" barrels.....
« on: July 25, 2009, 04:11:01 AM »
Hi All,

I own 2 remingtons that I consider to have "slow barrels" meaning that no matter what I reload, I can't get velocities anywhere near the spec for the cartridge.  Here's what I mean...I have a rem 700 BDL stainless in .375HH and have loaded RL-15, H414 and IMR4350 with 300 and 270gr bullets of various manufacturers.  I have an oehler chrono that I've owned since the 90's and use all of the time.  Being a pharmacist by profession, I weigh my powder and generally get a Sd of 10 or less so I know that my loads are consistant.

My chronographed velocities tend to be at least 200fps slower than any book published.  For a 300gr Nosler partition, I get 2430fps (and 1" groups) with 74gr of RL-15 (max is 72gr). In order to get the published velocity, I've loaded 76.5gr and the accuracy is aweful.  The 270gr bullets give high 2400s with the same powder and good accuracy, but my loads are over by a couple of grains as well.  This is exactly the same with my Rem 700 Mountain Rifle in 06 that I bought in the 90's.  It has a 24" barrel and my pet load is 61gr RL-22 with 180gr bullets and I'm just barely at 2700fps.

Now...I've used both on game and have killed a bunch and there's never any issue as to whether they work...but...for the sake of discussion...is there any loading technique that could help me get velocity near that which is published.  I've considered rebarreling each gun or rechambering to a wild cat (.375/8mmmag, 375wby and 30/06AI or gibbs) as well.

What do you think??
If you like, please enjoy some of my hunt pics at:

http://public.fotki.com/DrDougRx

If you leave a comment, please leave your GB screen name so that I can reply back!

Offline FW Conch

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor