Author Topic: Do we have any Maine deer hunters??  (Read 743 times)

Offline DLuke

• Trade Count: (0)
Do we have any Maine deer hunters??
« on: September 28, 2003, 06:16:11 AM »
Any Maine hunters out this way?  I've been hunting Central Maine for 21 years now, around the Corinna, Dexter, Dover-Foxcroft, Atkinson area.  We've had lots of fun over the years and have shot some good deer to boot.  Any other Maine hunters here?   DLuke

Offline Sgt Mike

Maine Deer Hunter - Will be there in 5 weeks
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2003, 01:46:46 AM »
I hunt the Springfield area for one week annually, folks up that way are really nice. That is the shortest week of the year. Any word on the condition of the herd?
Mike :grin:

Offline Dezertyote

• Avid Poster
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2003, 04:54:52 AM »
I hunt the alagash, I stay at PB outfitters. Will be there the last week of Nov. Its tough hunting in that area, theres more bear and moose than there is deer. The deer that are taken are usually dandy's.

The weather can put the stops on game movement real quick, and restrict your own ability to get around if your not well prepared.

Good hunting to ya... :D

PS. I heard that of last week, there were 103 bear taken out of Pauls camp.  :eek:
Blow a vintage Circe dinner bell and they will come...

Offline Paul

Maine hunting
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2003, 04:05:09 PM »
I hunt the same areas of around Sebec Lake area. Only the camp,at the end of Bowerbank Rd., that I usually hunt out of, got transfered to a wife in a very ugly divorce settlement. UGH!!! Just moved back to Ma. from Florida and all my hunting buddies got tired and don't go anymore. I'm planning on trying it alone this season, but I'm sure it won't be as much fun. I've also hunted Skowheggan, Maddawaska, Fort Kent, and Moosehead region, staying at the Wagon Wheels Camp a few times, in the earlier years.
       Best of luck in the upcoming season.
        Paul
         PGPIC@AOL.COM