Author Topic: 1st deer thanks  (Read 868 times)

Offline troglodyte

• Trade Count: (0)
1st deer thanks
« on: November 29, 2009, 09:27:52 AM »
Ladies and Gentlemen,

I've been a long-time lurker, few-time poster here at Graybeard's.  If you would allow me a few minutes I'd like to say a few things.

I'm a 1st generation hunter in Texas.  Now Texas has a great hunting tradition but a 1st timer without land or money has a hard time breaking into the hunting scene.  I've been hunting upland game for 30 years, as opportunities arose and sometimes years in between opportunities.  Generally I have been an arm-chair hunter longing to get into the field.  I am outdoorsy, backpacking and enjoying visits away from the city but hunting was/is always a difficult endeavor due to time, place, and/or money. 

This has changed, at least to some degree.  My son is marrying a wonderful young lady whose dad just happens to own lots of land and has a lease.  He was gracious enough to take me to his lease to whitetail hunt.  He was a very gracious host. 

Thanksgiving day brought a small 6 pt into my scope.  I'll admit I wanted my first deer to have antlers although I had a doe picked out until the buck showed up.  I don't imagine I'll ever be too inclined to shoot another buck that small again.  I had missed an opportunity at an 8 pt. earlier in the day (no shot) and wasn't going to let this one walk away. 

I gutted him by myself...and let me tell you...the first man to gut a deer couldn't have made it any harder or taken any longer... but I did it myself in the dirt under a perfectly blue, cloudless sky with the sun setting over the ridgeline.

So I'd like to thank all of you that help me on that first kill.  Many of you unknowingly helped me pick out a rifle and load.  You helped me choose a shot placement and how to pull the trigger.  You set up my scope and helped me breath during the pulling of the trigger.  You all had a part in this, my first deer.