Poll

Which would you pick for deep concealment?

NAA mini revolver 22 Magnum
8 (24.2%)
American Derringer .45 Colt/.410
25 (75.8%)

Total Members Voted: 33

Author Topic: If you had to choose betwwen these two  (Read 2431 times)

Offline Doublebass73

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (46)
If you had to choose betwwen these two
« on: December 04, 2009, 01:50:59 PM »
I work in an office with a "no guns" policy. I decided long ago to carry at work anyway but I keep it quiet and carry an NAA mini revolver in .22 Magnum which is small enough to not get noticed. I've been working there for 3 years and nobody has ever noticed, I use a homemade holster that prints like a wallet. I like the gun but understand the caliber is very marginal. I ran across a nice American Derringer the other day in .45 Colt/.410. I'm set up to reload .45 Colt so I could load some light practice loads to get used to the recoil. This gun looks to be about as big as I could get away with without being noticed.

I like the idea of having something as big as a .45 Colt in a small deep concealment gun. I love J-frames but even those are too big since they print way more due to the cylinder bulge in the pocket. I'm not into the mousegun semi-autos as they are almost as marginal as the .22 Mag plus the grips don't fit my big hands well either. The Derringer obviously has the big disadvantage of having only 2 shots.

My question is if you had to pick between 5 shots of .22 Mag or 2 shots of .45 Colt/.410 for deep concealment at work which would you pick and why?

Thanks for any opinions.

"Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves."

---- William Pitt (the Younger), Speech in the House of Commons, November 18, 1783

Offline S.S.

• Trade Count: (0)
Re: If you had to choose betwwen these two
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2009, 01:57:23 PM »
.45 derringer hands down
Vir prudens non contra ventum mingit