Author Topic: Where am I going wrong?  (Read 827 times)

Offline Pumah25

• Trade Count: (9)
  • Avid Poster
Where am I going wrong?
« on: December 08, 2009, 06:19:36 PM »
I decided to take advantage of the raging snowstorm outside and jump from the straight wall pistol cartridges I have been doing for 2 years to taking on the bottle neck rifle cases. 300 Weatherby (Redding Dies) resized no problem, 30-30 (Hornady dies)no problem. 30-06 Problem. I ran it in... it went rough. I should have known something bad was about to happen and sure enough the case stuck and ripped off the rim of the shell. I lubed the outside and inside the neck with Dillon Case lube (Lee dies) I then switched to some 270 and again it went rough this time I was smart enough not to force it (RCBS dies). I was able to extract it but not without difficulty. I then sized some 300 Win and it went without problem (Hornady dies) and some 35 Rem (RCBS) without a problem.

Is this a die issue? Any other ideas. I am confused and a little frustrated so any help is appreciated.

I know that when it comes to dies I have a dog from every town but I got into this on a budget and have bought a lot of these from individuals online to save money.

Offline sixshot

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Avid Poster
Re: Where am I going wrong?
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2009, 07:02:05 PM »
Might check & make sure you used the correct shell holder, either that or your case lube wasn't working.

Dick

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2009, 01:51:05 AM »
Doubtful it's a die issue most likely inadequate lube. When starting with new dies you some times need a bit more lube than you'll need later. Did you take the dies apart and clean them good before beginning? I always do that and then put a bit of lube inside the die before sizing the first case as well. Better too much and a lube dent or two than a stuck case. I hope you have a stuck case remover if not it's time to order one.