Author Topic: 9mm, how full is to full?  (Read 944 times)

Offline searly

• Trade Count: (0)
9mm, how full is to full?
« on: December 14, 2009, 08:00:31 AM »
I'm fairly new to reloading; I've loaded mostly large handgun cartridges such as 45LC and 44 mag.  Normally in those cartridges there is plenty of space inside the case after adding your powder.  That does not seem to be the case with 9mm or even the 40 s&w.  After following several recommended recipes, the cases seem awfully full with no space between the powder and bullet after seating. This makes me nervous.  I've checked the powder with a powder scale.  Recalibrated the scale and checked again but the darn things are so full that it just seems dangerous.  I've segregated these rounds until I find out if I'm making some kind of rookie mistake.  The "recipe" I've followed for the 9mm is 124 gr GDHP in front of 5.7 gr of unique.

Please point out my mistake if any.

Searly

Offline Dill45

• Avid Poster
Re: 9mm, how full is to full?
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2009, 08:29:17 AM »
Is this a recipe you got from a reloading manual? If not I wouldn't use it till you checked it out in a reloading manual.  I have no personal experience using unique in 9mm, so I'm unsure of the load that you are using.

That all being said, from my experiences, the best accuracy I've ever achieved in many of my straight wall rifle rounds was where the powder was either slightly compressed or just right at the base of the bullet.  From what I've been told, and read, is that with a full case it allows for the most consistent ignition and burn of the powder since it's not moving around in the case.  That is not to say try to fill every case to the max with powder because that is dangerous.  Some powders simply can't be loaded with that much powder because it would be to much powder, and to much pressure.

Again, check it out in a reloading manual.  Personally I would start out at a starting load and work up. 

Offline OR-E-Gun Bill