Author Topic: temperature and testing reloads  (Read 379 times)

Offline anweis

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
temperature and testing reloads
« on: January 05, 2010, 04:50:22 AM »
It's 0 F outside and i was wondering if this is too cold to effectively try some reloads that i have? These will be used at about 40 - 50 F, actually. IMR 4350 powder (41 gr.) and CCI BR-2 primers...?
Would the cold affect the burn rate and cartridge performance, or just me?

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: temperature and testing reloads
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2010, 04:55:41 AM »
Dunno if it's too cold for the powder but it's dang shore too cold for me to go out and shoot. Such extremes to have some effect on both primers and powders if they are not made to be temperature insensitive. How much effect only testing in both temp ranges can say.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline drdougrx

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (10)
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2010, 05:04:47 AM »
I notice a definate vibration when the temperature gets a bit under 32 degrees.  It does have an effect of group size...usually I go into the range house and the vibration stops..... ;D

Seriously....I've been told but have not experienced any noticeable change in group size.  As to effect on components...they say in really cold temps, velocity decreases and visa versa in the heat.....a temp stabilzed powder should help, but, I haven't seen anything specific....

Anyone????
If you like, please enjoy some of my hunt pics at:

http://public.fotki.com/DrDougRx

If you leave a comment, please leave your GB screen name so that I can reply back!

Offline gypsyman

• Trade Count: (1)
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2010, 05:25:09 AM »