Author Topic: H&R Youth Model 20 Ga Pardner Shotgun?  (Read 3073 times)

Offline pab1

• Trade Count: (54)
  • A Real Regular
H&R Youth Model 20 Ga Pardner Shotgun?
« on: January 11, 2010, 12:39:00 PM »
I'm new to H&R shotguns (don't use any shotguns to speak of) and just picked up an H&R Youth Model 20 Ga Pardner shotgun with modified choke for my son. I checked the owners manual and could not find anything about what kinds of shot it will handle. Are all types of shot safe in these guns?
"If there must be trouble, let it be in my day, that my child may have peace. "
Thomas Paine

Offline Jal5

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (13)
Re: H&R Youth Model 20 Ga Pardner Shotgun?
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2010, 01:13:27 PM »
I would think any type shot in 20 ga. will be fine. You will enjoy that little shotgun! I know I like mine a lot and even with full choke in mine it is deadly on deer with slugs out to 70 yds.  ;D
S. G. G. = Sons of the Greatest Generation. Too old to run, too proud to hide; we will stand our ground and take as many as we can with us

Offline TxGun

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Avid Poster
  • Retired
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2010, 01:54:39 PM »
All factory 20 gauge loads, in whatever length noted on the barrel (or shorter), would be fine in your new shotgun.

Offline pab1

• A Real Regular
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2010, 02:39:33 PM »
Thanks guys! I didn't think I could use slugs in it with the choke. Are there any pressure issues with slugs in a modified choke?
Thomas Paine

Offline Froghunter

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Contributor
  • .38 Special and .357 S&W Magnum Stuff
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2010, 02:57:39 PM »
Pab1,