Author Topic: correct grain bullet for my rifle twist????  (Read 875 times)

Offline Huffmanite

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
correct grain bullet for my rifle twist????
« on: January 13, 2010, 05:30:58 PM »
I have a couple of surplus sporters chambered in 257 Roberts.  Both have 21 inch barrels and their twist rate is 1 in 10 inches.  I have 75 grain, 87, 100, 117 jacketed bullets.  Which of these should be the more accurate with my twist rate?

Offline Dand

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (35)
Re: correct grain bullet for my rifle twist????
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2010, 11:04:27 PM »
Ruger currently lists their 257 R rifles with 1:10 twist. I would guess your rifles should shoot nearly all grain wts listed ok. I'd be most concerned for 117 gr bullets, some may shoot well, others might not depending on actual length and design and velocity. But I'm not very experienced with the 257. Maybe someone with more knowledge will chime in.  HTH
NRA Life

liberal Justice Hugo Black said, and I quote: "There are 'absolutes' in our Bill of Rights, and they were put there on purpose by men who knew what words meant and meant their prohibitions to be 'absolutes.'" End quote. From a recent article by Wayne LaPierre NRA

Offline Steve P

• Trade Count: (10)
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2010, 04:13:17 AM »
Shoot 'em all!!

Steve :)
"Life is a play before an audience of One.  When your play is over, will your audience stand and applaude, or stay seated and cry?"  SP 2002

Offline LilNewt

• Trade Count: (4)
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2010, 04:58:32 AM »
To know for SURE you would have to shoot them all.  To break the frustration of finding one that might do the best look up "greenhill formula calculator" on the internet and then type in your numbers and it will spit out some very rough information to start your process.   But I am a newbie at this so I am sure that there are others that can help out with more experience with the particular round.

Offline Sweetwater