Author Topic: Swivel gun  (Read 4516 times)

Offline grymster

• Trade Count: (0)
Swivel gun
« on: February 04, 2010, 09:16:43 AM »
Hi, name's grym and I'm a newb here.

Came across these forums while looking for information on black powder cannon making. For my first project I'd like to make a swivel gun and I'm hoping some of you can answer a few questions. I have modeled up a gun that's about 3.5" diameter at the breech, about 20" long with a tentative 1" bore. I'd like to make it of brass, but I'm not entirely committed to that.

So:

Seems to me a mortar has a powder chamber that is smaller than the bore diameter; would the same be true for a cannon such as a swivel gun? Or is a hole of single (caliber) diameter bored and the space behind the ball serves as the powder chamber?

Many of the cannon and swivel guns I've seen have a series of bands cast or machined onto the OD of the barrel; are there some sort of rhyme or reason for their number, size and/or spacing? Or are they purely aesthetic?

I've seen some cannon with offset trunnions; what might be the advantage of that?

I did the modeling in SolidWorks and I'm currently experiencing a computer problem that won't let me access my model. Hope to have that issue resolved soon and maybe I'll post some images.
grym

Offline Double D

• Trade Count: (3)
  • SAMCC cannon by Brooks-USA
    • South African Miniature Cannon Club
Re: Swivel gun
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2010, 10:02:23 AM »
I suggest you get a copy of Building 18th Century Naval Artillery by Damian Siekonic.  He covers build Swivel guns in his books.  Some very clever tricks and ideas to help you with your build.

Howitzers and mortars had powder chambers.  Swivels didn't. 

Those bands are reinforcing bands some are functional and some are decorative.

Below centerline trunnions were abandoned in favor of centerline trunnions to reduce muzzle flip in recoil.