Author Topic: Barrel Fitting Almost Completed?  (Read 467 times)

Offline carbineman

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (58)
Barrel Fitting Almost Completed?
« on: March 14, 2010, 11:45:20 AM »
Recently acquired a 30-06 barrel from a member in a trade. My only SB2 frame is from an Ultra manufactured in 2002. The barrel lug was too long and I needed to remove material from the lug pivot area. I tried a few passes with various drill bits and oxide paper secured from a retired machinist friend. I settled on a .348 drill bit and 1/2 wrap of #60 oxide for a size near .378. Being this is my first try at doing a rifle barrel (did two shotguns somewhat crudely) I did lot of trial fitting and after several hours my barrel will close on the action 19 out of 20 times. I have since had to put the project aside. I noticed the ejector is making a mark on the breech face and I can't get the aluminum foil to slide thru the area between the breech face and the barrel yet. It locks up tight on the foil. I have not checked for latch engagement yet.

When I get back to this project I'm wondering, have any of you left your barrel fitting super snug like this or would advise removing slightly more material from the lug pivot? On one side I'm thinking the whole deal will eventually loosen up, and then again think I might have it all too snug yet. Any thoughts?

Offline MSP Ret

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (173)
Re: Barrel Fitting Almost Completed?
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2010, 11:50:44 AM »
I suggest you do not take any more off and shoot it a while, better snug than loose. It is easier to remove a bit more later than to add some....<><....:)
"Giving up your gun to someone else on demand is called surrender. It means that you have given up your ability to protect yourself to a power that is greater than you." - David Yeagley

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2010, 12:07:52 PM »