Author Topic: First time reloader with questions.  (Read 383 times)

Offline Govt Mule

• Trade Count: (0)
First time reloader with questions.
« on: March 29, 2010, 06:07:35 PM »
I'm about to load some ammo but need some help with load data.

1.  I have rainier coated 9mm 115gr rn bullets and unique powder that I would like to use together.  I have seen no lead data for this combo, but have data for 115gr fmj.  Can I safely use fmj data, for copper coated if the weight is the same, and use the starting loads?

2.  I have 38spl, 125gr lead flat point [cone shape] bullets.  Can I use load data for a 125gr lead round nose flat point?

3.  I have 38spl, 148gr double ended bb wc, that have crimping groves. About 1/16" will be exposed out of the case.  Can I use data for 148gr hollow base wc?

I'm new to this and just want to be safe with what I load. Sorry if any of the above questions are dumb or common knowledge, and Thanks in advance for any replies.   

Offline bronco73401

• Trade Count: (10)
  • Avid Poster
Re: First time reloader with questions.
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2010, 06:32:13 PM »
On your first two questions I would say yes you can. On your third, no. If you are going to use unique with your 148 gr.bb-hs start with 4.5 grains and no more than 5.1. That load is according to my speer #12.

BTW no such thing as a stupid question. If you dont know ask. I load a lot of 9mm and 38's.

Lance
NRA Member
USAF Desert Storm Veteran

Offline Dand

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (35)
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2010, 06:40:58 PM »
?1:  If you go to Berry's (plated bullets site) I believe they do not recommend full power loads developed for normal jacketed bullets.  Better to use cast lead levels. I've seen plated bullets where the plating comes off and accuracy goes to pot.
Here's a link to Berry's FAQ on loading plated
http://www.berrysmfg.com/faq.aspx?q=9&c=1