Author Topic: Coehorn Mortars  (Read 3800 times)

Offline tombstone270

• Trade Count: (0)
Coehorn Mortars
« on: April 12, 2010, 05:39:53 AM »
Hello ,,,and yes I am a newbie...forsure....I have made a small golf ball cannon..

But now I am trying to have made a 12 pound Coehorn Mortar close to Civil War specs.
as I can.... so my question is what is the bore...I have seen 4.5" - 4.6" and 4.62" the later
being what I think it is....

My diametions that I am look at are ..... little less than 7" OD 4.62" bore and about 12 1/2" long....looking to make it from 7"  x 13"  1018 bar

I have read much of the post here some var. just wanted to check my numbers and steel....

thank you so much...Great fourm

tomb

Offline BoomLover

• Trade Count: (1)
Re: Coehorn Mortars
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2010, 06:20:51 AM »
Welcome to the forum, Tombstone270! It's a little early yet this morning, but stick around, you will get lots of answers and comments from these guys. Some build to exact scale, and some use the MIF method, but we all have a lot of fun and gain lots of info here. BoomLover
"Beware the Enemy With-in, for these are perilous times! Those who promise to protect and defend our Constitution, but do neither, should be evicted from public office in disgrace!

Offline Double D

• Trade Count: (3)
  • SAMCC cannon by Brooks-USA
    • South African Miniature Cannon Club
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2010, 06:27:22 AM »
First looked at the Wanted: Your opinions on Dixie Gun Works mortar post and you will see some discussion on the possibility of a 12 Pound Civil war mortar.  The literature says the Confederates made 12 PDR, but no proven examples exist.  It is subject of great debate.

On the other hand if you are making a scaled down version of the 24 PDR and you are making it 12 PDR then the numbers ore 4.62 for bore and 4.52 for the ball.  I am building Confederate pattern in 6 PDR

Are you making a Federal pattern or a Confederate pattern?  What plans are you working from?