Author Topic: Which one would you choose?  (Read 934 times)

Offline kr930

• Trade Count: (0)
Which one would you choose?
« on: April 24, 2010, 03:28:08 AM »
Hello guys!

A "simple" question: Given 2 original (not replicas) revolvers in same excellent condition, Remington 1858 New Model and Roger & Spencer which one would you choose? The price is around USD 3200 each...  I intend to use the gun for shooting and collecting...I am new to the black powder world so please help me...

Regards and thank you!

Marius
Sweden

Offline coyotejoe

• Trade Count: (4)
Re: Which would you choose?
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2010, 05:25:19 AM »
Personally, I prefer the Colt style for several reasons but between the two mentioned I would definitely take the Remington. I had a Rogers & Spencer long years ago and found the exaggerated flair of the grip and very high hammer spur to be quite awkward. It shot OK in aimed fire but the handling properties were terrible.
The story of David & Goliath only demonstrates the superiority of ballistic projectiles over hand weapons, poor old Goliath never had a chance.

Offline bedbugbilly

• Avid Poster
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2010, 11:17:19 AM »