Author Topic: 357 Maximum  (Read 765 times)

Offline Wolf13

• Trade Count: (9)
357 Maximum
« on: April 24, 2010, 03:57:28 AM »
I am looking at a Dan Wesson 357 Maximum Can you shoot 357 Mag in it like you can 38 spec. in the 357. Will they cause any problems because they are shorter than the Max shells. Any info you have wiil really be a lot of help. I will reload for it as I already have an 357 DW that I load for Thanks for any help.  :)

Offline Richard P

• Trade Count: (7)
  • Contributor
Re: 357 Maximum
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2010, 04:57:24 AM »
  The standard 357m can be used in a Max barrel/ cylinder.  You can also use the 38spl.  After prolonged use of a shorter casing you may get pitting due to the powder but I have no direct experience in that happening. I think it would be greatly influenced by the powder selection. My feeling is that h110 or 4227 may contribute to it more if they dont burn completely. I dont think the flake type powders as Unique or Blue Dot would because I think they would be consumed on firing. 
   When the M-40 revolver was new the writers cautioned about the frame being cut by the powder. This happened when light bullets were used in an attempt at high velocity. When the 180 and 200gr bullets were used the condition was not seen as much.  Pay attention to the barrel/ cyl gap. I'd recommend anti-seize on the threads of the barrel. It isnt fun when they wont come off.  Enjoy your revolver.  rp

Offline Merle

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2010, 12:45:33 PM »