Author Topic: cylinder pin lube  (Read 964 times)

Offline copdills

• Trade Count: (0)
cylinder pin lube
« on: May 12, 2010, 02:56:19 PM »
Hello, I am new to BP pistols I have a 1858 Italy made pistol, my question is what kind of lube do you lube the cylinder pin with and what else do you lube on thes pistols

Thanks copdills

Offline Oldwolf

Re: cylinder pin lube
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2010, 08:17:33 AM »
I just use a thin coating of Breakfree CLP. What do you use now?

Offline copdills

« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2010, 11:16:08 AM »
Fact is I havn't shot it yet, I need to clean it and lube it before I do and I didn't know if I should use modern lubes or oils or just use bore butter  to lube it with its not that dirty, but I want to clean it first its new to me

Offline Oldwolf

EVOO
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2010, 03:30:45 PM »
If you are not a purist, then modern lubricant are OK for hinges and cylinder arbors, and everything else but bores. But they can tar up in bores when subjected to burning muzzleloading propellants I hear. For that reason I do still lube bores and chambers with bore butter or olive oil. If putting a gun away for storage I will use Breakfree in the bore but wipe it out with alcohol, and recoat with olive oil, before shooting.

Offline Cowpox

• Contributor
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2010, 05:17:37 PM »
The best cylider pin lube I have found is High Speed/High Temp bearing grease.

It stays put, and does a better job of sealing out fouling than traditional Black Powder lubes. It appears to at least triple the number of rounds that can be fired, before the revolver gets sticky and hard to cock.

As OLDwolf indicated, petroleum based grease does not seem to produce tar as long as it is not in where it is involved in combustion.