Author Topic: velocity variations  (Read 415 times)

Offline sturgeonhunter

• Trade Count: (0)
velocity variations
« on: September 12, 2010, 08:42:46 AM »
Hello. I have been reloading for 18 years and for the first time yesterday I shot over a chronograph what is the typical variation in  a loads velocity the lowest was 2655 and the high was 2685 is that typical and acceptable.this was the spread for 10 rounds. Thanks guys :)

Offline stimpylu32

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (67)
Re: velocity variations
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2010, 09:43:09 AM »
If your only seeing a 30 fps SD in 10 rounds = WOW , I have shot 10 round groups that were as much as 150 fps SD .

So , yes those numbers are more than exceptical , just remember , not all your loads well do so well .  ;D

stimpy
Deceased June 17, 2015

:D If i can,t stop it with 6 it can,t be stopped

Offline sturgeonhunter

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2010, 09:57:41 AM »
Thanks stimpy

Offline Catfish

« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2010, 10:04:45 AM »
Almost correct, your ES, extreem spread is 30, you SD would be alot less. That is exceptional.

Offline Siskiyou

« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2010, 10:11:26 AM »
I do not think your results are out of whack, I think you have a good load.  For example I had the follow Maximum spreads with two commercial loads from the same rifle on the same day.

Federal 243 100-grain SP maximum spread 45 fps.

Remington 243 100-grain C-L 80 fps. 

Handload using 105 grain Speer Splitzer 30 fps.  WMR powder
I selected the 105 grain Speer to load for deer and set aside 40 rounds in new WW cases based on the results.

Handload with 100-grain Nosler SB with H414  42fps

Handload with 100-grain Nosler SB with H414  7fps.

Extreme spread is only one factor in the selection.  Within the firing may be rounds that were very close together.