Author Topic: estimateing hardness of lead  (Read 1453 times)

Offline hillbill

• Trade Count: (0)
estimateing hardness of lead
« on: September 19, 2010, 02:47:31 PM »
ill admit im totally new to casting bullete.i have several bricks of lead and some other lead i got at a auction.right now im useing a couple of them for anchors on my fishin boat.how do i tell if the hardness of this lead?im not buying a hardness tester, just wondered if yuall has anyway of estimateing the hardness?what im looking at is casting bullets for my roa and for my 45 long colt blackhawk with alox tumble lube.a guy gave me a bucket of wheel weights and im not sure if i should just mix them in or what?love to hear from yu guys on what i should do.?

Offline Nobade

• Trade Count: (2)
Re: estimateing hardness of lead
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2010, 02:18:21 AM »
A thumbnail can go a long way to estimating lead hardness. Back before hardness testers, there was "soft" - you could scratch it with a thumbnail, and "hard" - you couldn't. That still works. "soft" for low velocity pistol bullets, "hard" for rifles. After you do this for a while, you will be able to refine it more into "softer" and "harder". I've been doing it for about 40 years now, and my thumbnail is well calibrated. Never really had any need for a hardness tester to give me a number.
"Give me a lever long enough, and a place to stand, and I'll break the lever."

Offline Anduril

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2010, 06:54:40 AM »
A lot of guys get hung up on the hardness numbers, I'm not one of them. Like Nobade the fingernail test is all I use.

roa = Ruger Old Army? If so, save the "soft" lead for this one.

The 45 Colt will do well with straight wheel weights.

Offline Lloyd Smale

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (32)
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2010, 01:28:11 AM »