Author Topic: Can someone tell me how to adjust Hornady FL and seater die?  (Read 1439 times)

Offline DalesCarpentry

• Trade Count: (32)
  • I would rather be shooting!!
Can someone tell me how to adjust Hornady FL and seater die?
« on: October 04, 2010, 08:31:06 AM »
I just received 2 die set of Hornady dies ( for 308 Win. ) that contain a Full lenght sizing die and a bullet seating die. I am still new to reloading and I need to know how to adjust them. The guy I got them from must have forgot to include the instructions. Thanks in advance and take care Dale
The quality of a mans life is in direct proportion to his commitment to excellence.

A bad day at the range is better than a good day at work!!

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
"Always do right, this will gratify some and astonish the rest" -  Mark Twain

Offline SHOOTALL

• Trade Count: (0)
Re: Can someone tell me how to adjust Hornady FL and seater die?
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2010, 08:44:37 AM »
The seater die , screw into press . screw the stem out . screw the die body in until you feel resistance. lower the ram and place a bullet in the case mouth and lower the handle. if you don't  feel contact then screw the seater stem in until you do . Raise the arm a little and screw the seater in more. Do this until you get desired COL. Then screw the seater out and adjust by screwing in until you get the crimp you want. Lock the die in place and adjust the seater on the case you just crimped and lock it in place. If you seat and crimp in different operations just lock every thing when you get COL. and do all your rounds then adjust to crimp.