Author Topic: Medium Velocity 44 Mag  (Read 2467 times)

Offline 277284

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Medium Velocity 44 Mag
« on: December 15, 2010, 07:07:35 AM »
Is there a lower velocity 44 Mag factory load or is there only 44 Specials to use.  This is mostly for easier to shoot & practice.

Offline corbanzo

• Trade Count: (2)
Re: Medium Velocity 44 Mag
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2010, 07:58:23 AM »
Look into the american eagle type loads.  The cheaper ammo isn't usually very hot. 
"At least with a gun that big, if you miss and hit the rocks in front of him it'll stone him to death..."

Offline Ak.Hiker

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2010, 06:35:46 PM »
While much hotter than a 44 Special the 240 grain Blazer JHP would be worth a try.

Online Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2010, 05:29:21 AM »
Most factory .44 mag loads these days are medium velocity at least compared to what they were back when I started shooting it. There are plenty of under 1200 fps factory loads out there with 240 grain bullets. It sure didn't used to be that way.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline corbanzo

« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2010, 08:50:15 PM »
And if you are using it for practice/plinking, .44 special is MUCH more expensive than .44 mag. 
"At least with a gun that big, if you miss and hit the rocks in front of him it'll stone him to death..."

Offline HGunner

• Avid Poster
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2010, 02:48:20 AM »