Author Topic: Problems chambering reloads. HELP!  (Read 660 times)

Offline Dogshooter

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
  • NRA Life Member
Problems chambering reloads. HELP!
« on: February 13, 2011, 11:12:20 AM »
I have been reloading rifle and revolver cartridges for over thirty years and never had any problems but in the last couple of years have started seeing a problem chambering my reloads. I full length resize, and trim to specs, and one or two out of every 15 to 20 rounds will not chamber in my rifles. Not just one caliber, all of them. I tried replacing dies, didn't help. I mic every dimension I can think of when comparing a cartridge that WILL chamber against one that WON'T. Some rounds will chamber but you have to really bear down on the bolt and with those, the shell base shows material scraped off when you remove the shell. This is driving me crazy as I have tried everything I can think of and am still having problems. Any thought from you guys as to what I might try next???
Perception is everything. For instance, a crowded elevator smells different to a midget.

Offline Wyo. Coyote Hunter

Re: Problems chambering reloads. HELP!
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2011, 11:17:07 AM »
 :-\ I ran into this with a Cheetah..I neck truned the brass and that solved that problem..I may have done this with my swift also...

Offline BCB

• A Real Regular
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2011, 11:28:16 AM »
Is it possible that the neck expander plug is pulling the shoulders just a bit forward when the case is removed from the sizing die?...

That would cause a headspace problem.  It would be difficult to measure that with any measuring tool...

I put a bit of graphite in my case necks from time to time and that stops the extreme drag when the expander plug is pulled from the case neck...

Just a thought...

Good-luck...

BCB

Online Land_Owner

• Global Moderator
  • Moderators
  • Trade Count: (31)
    • Permission Granted - Land Owner